‘Sup? Soup

November 24, 2013 § 2 Comments

Today, I don’t think the temperature is supposed to rise above 45 degrees, maybe less. I heard the weatherman on the radio say tonight’s low is 26. Winter, it would seem, has arrived and all at once. Just the day for making soup, I thought when I woke up. After the trip to the grocery store that took me out in the chill, I was even more convinced. Image

What you see there is a Paleo Buffalo Chicken Soup. I am no adherent to a paleo diet nor do I feel that I truly know what that would encompass. The recipe was gifted to me by the internet as I searched for something else, I’m sure. I was intrigued by the idea of it at first and then the ease with which I could make it. It wasn’t what I typically gravitate toward in a soup: creamy with potatoes and bacon or tomatoey with black beans or hearty and cumin-spiked like chili. The cup of hot sauce may have been its siren song and my undoing. (Incidentally, it’ll clear your head if the cold-weather crud has you all congested.) Overall, I’m pleased with how it turned out, two bowls later.

I’ve written this before, but I was struck again today by just how much I like to cook. Not all the time and not all things, mind you. But, on a day like today, when I have the time and nothing pressing to attend to, it’s a soothing ritual. Busying myself with the chopping, the boiling, the spicing quiets my overly analytical and introspective mind. Being in the kitchen with a list to follow and a job to do somehow clears away thoughts and questions that hound and allows me a respite. Feeding oneself requires a singular focus. Image

Eating and enjoying do, too.

§ 2 Responses to ‘Sup? Soup

  • Alison Wilson says:

    This soup might be considered my birthright soup. Cup of hot sauce? Yes. Buffalo chicken? Yes. I need to make this soon.

    • feeling full says:

      I had you in mind the whole time! Note: having an immersion blender (or a real blender to puree the whole thing in) would make it actually better because the cauliflower wouldn’t be in pieces. So, a case where a certain step sounds fussy but really is important! I hope you like it if you try it. A non-paleo version with cream and assorted other tastiness would be even better, I think.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading ‘Sup? Soup at Feeling Full.

meta

