Learned over the Weekend

October 21, 2013 § Leave a comment

It’s a short drive from Birmingham to Moundville, where I was mostly reared and where my parents live still. The scenery along the 60-or-so miles changes little and bored me often in the 3 years that I lived “back at home” recently. Especially as a teenager, living so far from my friends was isolating and cause for age-appropriate levels of despair on Friday and Saturday nights before I could drive. Now, of course, the trek to the country feels like the getaway I most need. This weekend filled me up, just being in the company of my brother and parents for several days. We also celebrated my dear mom’s birthday today, and everyone was off work. I myself timed it perfectly to my whole week off work, I must say. I’m trying not to overly book the next 4 days, but mostly just enjoy and appreciate the shift in my daily routine.

As we lazed around and ate and talked and tried out the new TV and Blu-ray player that constituted my mom’s gifts and ate some more, I made a few observations.

1. Sleeping in a twin bed has the strange ability to make you feel both old and young at once.

2. My family loves me so well and it makes me want to love others as completely, or at least try to, so they’ll know how great it feels.

3. Listening to my brother and father debate politics and faith is both edifying and hilarious.

4. All my father’s home improvement projects are unlikely to be finished in my lifetime.

5. My dad and brother will always frustrate my mom and I’s desires to get anywhere, specifically church, on time. Having only one shower already puts us in a bind, but still.

6. Making my family laugh is its own reward.

7. The fall season will not be complete until I hear my mom scream with both delight and dismay at her Auburn Tigers football team.

8. I will always be a country girl at heart.

9. My mom will never tire of listening to me prattle on, through laughter or tears. Such a gift.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Learned over the Weekend at Feeling Full.

meta

