Tried and True

September 17, 2013 § Leave a comment

Baking is comfortingly familiar. I’m sure I’ve written this here somewhere before, and I know the sentiment is not new (or news to anyone who knows me!). There’s a kind of virtue in working with your hands, making something whole out of pieces and parts, creating and shaping the raw ingredients. This idea was resonating within me tonight as I set out just to share some tastiness here on the blog. It can be a very centering experience, to focus on just the task at hand, unlike most of life and jobs where multi-tasking is demanded. It reminds me to slow down, to take my time, to enjoy moving from one step to the next as I try not to forget any essential ingredients.

IMG_4136

I made these Oatmeal Fudge Bars from a Cook’s Country recipe to take to a girls’ night get-together Saturday. Having somewhere for food to go after I make it enhances the process. Maybe I think (or fret) about whether it will turn out more, or wonder if people will like it as, of course, I want them to. Mostly I enjoy the making and the sharing even more than the making and just consuming by myself.

 

IMG_4139

IMG_4144

I can happily report they did turn out, as the large hunks hacked off from the pan and transferred to plates quickly disappeared to yum-yum refrains. There was even a little bit, just a little bit, left to bring home, which is always a pleasant surprise. I do like to enjoy the result of my labors.

 

IMG_4154

 

Tagged:

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tried and True at Feeling Full.

meta

