Lamington Cupcakes

May 2, 2013 § Leave a comment

I found an apartment with my new roommate this week, and we’ll move in soon and I’ll start my new job then too. Change is afoot, though it doesn’t really feel like it yet. I warmed to the new apartment slowly, after seeing 3 floor plans at the place we’d decided upon before being completely convinced. The kitchen has me feeling, well, challenged. As many a food blogger has proven, you don’t have to have excesses of square footage to develop flavor and deliciousness. But, I am a little hesitant about the size of the appliances, namely, the oven. At first glance, it’s definitely smaller than my parents’ gas range, but I must keep in mind that that is probably a skewed barometer. I might have to invest in a few half-size sheet pans and the like. Perhaps these thoughts have reinvigorated a desire to cook and bake this week in familiar territory, as it were.

These Lamington Cupcakes have been in my mind and staring at me from the cover of The Craft of Baking for a year or two now. Image

I don’t know the history of the name, and haven’t taken the time to look it up. I do know that this creamy cake batter puffs up appealingly, and yields to the slightest pressure when warm. I do know that the cupcakes are delectable plain, but indulgent trussed up in cocoa glaze and toasted coconut sprinkle. I do know that I’ll be making these again and probably rolling them in mini chocolate chips, truth be told.

Tagged:

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lamington Cupcakes at Feeling Full.

meta

