Ciao, Chuao

January 10, 2013 § Leave a comment

My brother is an excellent gift giver. For Christmas, he surprised me with two cheese-making kits and imported chocolate. (I got him beer and cigars which he seemed just as delighted in as I was by my food presents.) I had heard of Amedei chocolate, read about it in books and occasionally seen it mentioned online. It never occurred to me to track it down and buy. I’m so glad Josh did! IMG_3189

It has to be some of the smoothest, creamiest chocolate with that high of a percentage attached to it that I’ve sampled. I even broke my usual rule of not sharing dark chocolate to break off pieces for my whole family. With each piece of this and the Porcelana bar he also gave me, I tasted different flavors and suggestions and hints of aromas. Sometimes a coffee aftertaste lingered; other times it was almost fruity. This chocolate doesn’t crumble, but melts beautifully while still giving a bit of resistance when you first bite into it. There was no bitterness that I could detect, only a richness and luxurious texture. This is the way to do dark chocolate. I still don’t know how much it costs, and I’m a little afraid to find out. Ignorance is bliss.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ciao, Chuao at Feeling Full.

meta

