Hash It Out

January 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

Sometimes inspiration and ingredients coalesce at just the right time into actual edible creations. Such an event occurred this very morning, or as the late morning veered into afternoon territory in this case. Have I mentioned that I am very appreciative of the fact that my new job starts at 1 p.m.? Such a luxury, after the bakery hours, and it affords me leisurely daylight hours to dabble in the kitchen. Searching for something out of the usual for my breakfast, I spied tiny golden Yukon potatoes in the pantry, halves of a yellow and a green bell pepper in the fridge, and cherry tomatoes on the counter. What I made might not truly be a hash of strict definition, but here’s what I did.

Slicing the already teeny potatoes into thin rounds, I set them to sizzling in a pan with melted butter and a drizzle of olive oil. Dashes of salt and pepper and ground chipotle peppers and paprika followed. When the potatoes were starting to get golden and crispy, I added rough slices and chunks of the peppers and let that all go over medium heat, stirring at random, for about 5-7 minutes. A few halved cherry tomatoes went in next-to-last for just a few minutes and a sprinkling of green onions I found in the fridge provided the finish. hash

It turned out quite pretty, which always adds to the enjoyment of eating, and my haphazard addition of spices actually lent a little bit of smoke and a little bit of heat to contrast with the still crunchy fresh bite from the peppers. And, there’s something so satisfying about biting into a hot tomato with its skin slightly blistered. It almost makes them seem more tomato-y with more concentrated flavor, especially during the cold winter. I enjoyed every bite of this breakfast variation.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hash It Out at Feeling Full.

meta

