Put Cream Cheese on It

November 14, 2012 § Leave a comment

As I scrambled a few eggs the other morning, I thought, What can I add to this to jazz these up a bit?

Cream cheese became the answer. And then I realized, cream cheese has been the answer you didn’t know you were looking for in my life before. Here’s just two that immediately came to mind:

Want to make fluffy biscuits that beckon you to eat 2 or 3 or 4 with just a whisper from their soft, pillowy interiors? Add cream cheese.

Want to cool down a pizza featuring spicy toppings with slightly charred surprises of creaminess and meltiness? Dollop cream cheese at will amongst your pepperoncini, your Italian sausage, your red pepper flakes. This Portland, Maine, pizzeria did it and changed my family’s life in the form of the Matinicus. Not a year has gone by since 2007 that we haven’t attempted our own re-creation of it.

What else can cream cheese do, I wonder? You tell me.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Put Cream Cheese on It at Feeling Full.

meta

