Fall Update

October 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

October is just clipping on by and has kept my days pretty full. I celebrated more birthdays with friends and made Double Peanut Butter Paisley Brownies (find yourself some Reese’s peanut butter chips because the excellent recipe is on the back) and Pumpkin Whoopie Pies for them. My mom’s birthday came just this past Sunday, and she requested a recipe we’d had in our files for quite some time: Ginger Cakes with White Peaches and Blackberry Coulis.  Not a seasonal recipe by any stretch, but birthday requests get a pass. I was even pleasantly surprised by the quality of the regular peach I found at the store to go with it. These little cakes were delicate and spicy, and everyone, dad and brother included, liked them. They were a nice counterpoint to the red velvet bundt cake my brother brought home, which has barely lasted 4 days in our family’s presence. I didn’t get a chance to take any pictures of all these culinary creations, which is unfortunate for my archives but speaks to how quickly they were gobbled up.

In the midst of all the merriment, my job search continues and to that end, I actually had an interview for a proofreader position at a ad/marketing/branding firm, but it ended up going to someone else. I felt disappointed, mainly because I’d let myself just start to get excited about the prospect. It was not my ideal job, though, and I was still somewhat conflicted about my desire to accept it should they offer it, so when the email came that it wasn’t being offered, my decision suddenly became simpler. It’s still hard to go through the roller coaster though, but I believe it was good practice, as I haven’t interviewed anywhere in ages and my nervousness, I’m sure, was obvious. I do have a freelance article I’m working on for a local publication and that has bolstered my spirits a good bit.

Before October is out, I’m headed to California for a dear friend’s wedding, and I am excited to be there. I’ll be more at ease once we’re on our 6:30 a.m. flight of course. The promise of unique and exotic food opportunities has me doubly looking forward to the trip.

Now, that we’re all caught up, I’m reminded again of just how full this month has been. Just the way I like ’em.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fall Update at Feeling Full.

meta

