Apple Pie in a Mason Jar

September 25, 2012 § 2 Comments

My dear friend Rachael said “I do” to Jeff this past weekend, and her wedding was one to remember. They clearly cherish each other and their families. The ceremony was reverent and, at times, hilarious, like when the pastor gave Rach almost half the slice of rustic bread during their communion. Watching her decide whether to put down the crust or eat all of it was pretty entertaining, though I did feel a little conviction for giggling during the sacred moment. (The other bridesmaids were doing it too!)  I enjoyed getting to spend the whole weekend with her and celebrating with friends I knew well and friends I’ve come to know through her.

A fellow lover of good food, Rachael planned a spectacular menu for the reception: walnut, pear, and goat cheese salad with roasted beets; roasted vegetables galore; fried okra and fried green tomatoes; a biscuit and ham bar; and a shrimp and grits bar. Her talented and dedicated mom made and assembled (!) her 5-tier blackberry infused wedding cake swathed in white chocolate buttercream. There was a candy table that provided guests with a take-home favor, which I partook of generously. And, I don’t know if these were for swiping, but there were so many left, I just had to take one home.

Instead of a groom’s cake, the couple cut into a gorgeous apple pie and offered guests their own individual pies in the smallest, squattest Mason jars I’ve yet to see. Just enough to whet my appetite for more pie. Now that the air is crisp, it’s time to get to pie-baking.

§ 2 Responses to Apple Pie in a Mason Jar

  • thegregs says:

    Oh my goodness… just hearing about the “blackberry infused wedding cake swathed in white chocolate buttercream” makes me hungry. Sounds amazing! And, of course, congratulations (best wishes?) to Rachael.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Apple Pie in a Mason Jar at Feeling Full.

meta

