Pumpkin Snack Cake

August 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

(Psst…It’s really indistinguishable from pumpkin bread, but I thought I’d keep the recipe’s original title.)

Today was a day spent largely at the computer, opining on my strengths in jobs past as I prepared to apply for yet another job future. It really wasn’t all that bad. There’s several fluffy kitties lolling around for when I need a distraction, and the kitchen is always near at hand. After procrastinating with chores and then typing away at the familiar document, I decided it was time for the oven to do some work.

I found the recipe for Pumpkin Snack Cake in an issue of Cooking Light that I’d been saving, which turned out to be tabbed almost in total. It seemed that a recipe on almost every other page sounded interesting to me a few years ago. A few of them, this cake included, still did.

Image

It was a straightforward recipe, one with very few steps, but also, not very exciting in the spice department with only vanilla and cinnamon present. I took the liberty of adding a good dose of ground ginger, nutmeg, and allspice (sorry, cloves, I didn’t mean to forget you. Poppy seed was blocking you.). For experiment’s sake, I also subbed half the called-for amount of all-purpose flour with white-wheat. I couldn’t tell that anything odd was up after I sliced into the golden, burnt sienna colored slab and took a big bite while it was too hot to hold still in one hand, because who really waits for baked goods to completely cool?

Image

Choosing to forgo the recipe for quick cream cheese frosting included in the directions, I shook some powdered sugar on top for the final flourish and a bit more sweetness. Hurry up Fall; we’re ready for you.

Tagged: ,

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pumpkin Snack Cake at Feeling Full.

meta

