Cobbled Together

July 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

It’s a wedding of fruits, if you will. Ripe, aromatic Alabama peaches and tart, juicy Alabama blueberries complement each other like a breeze does a porch swing. It pleases me no end to be able to walk out into the backyard and spend just a few minutes plucking beautiful berries from leafy branches. It just makes me happy to be able to say, “Oh, I don’t have two cups of berries for this recipe. Well, I’ll just go pick some more.”

Ten minutes later, they were in hand and I was off to the races, working on this cobbler. I usually like to make a Barefoot Contessa recipe for peach and blueberry crumbles when I happen to have both headliners in house. The rainy weather we had today (finally!) steered me toward the pillowy comfort that is a biscuit-topped cobbler. Smitten Kitchen came through for me, as she always does when you’re looking for abundant flavor. ImageIt was worth turning the oven on for the delectable result that was achieved. I especially liked that the biscuits for this cobbler were of the cornmeal variety, which added a welcome crunchy texture to the near-melted, syrupy fruit concoction. I followed SK’s recipe all the way through, with a tiny addition of dried ginger to the fruit and a wash of cream and sprinkle of raw sugar atop the biscuit blobs.

ImageA corner of the pan equals a serving, right?

Image

Tagged: , ,

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cobbled Together at Feeling Full.

meta

