Mexican Hot Chocolate Shortbread

May 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

The Black Keys taught me, “the look of the cake, it ain’t always the taste,” and that is definitely true for these tasty chocolate cookies. First, they’re black as tar. Second, I was lazy and didn’t artfully press them with a cookie stamp and then sprinkle sugar on top; I just used the palm of my hand.

But, boy, does the taste trump all the aesthetics. Crumbly, slightly chewy, and thoroughly chocolately, almost like a thin brownie disc, these cookies from this cookbook sneak up on you like a scary movie chase sequence. Only, you don’t scream, you sigh and whisper, “ohhhhhhh.”

Image

They’re dense to be sure and chock full of all sorts of surprises: espresso powder, almond extract, cinnamon, cayenne pepper. The recipe also called for almond flour which I didn’t have and substituted hazelnut flour instead, which gave them a little bit of crunchiness from the larger hazelnut specks.

I made a batch yesterday when I actually mixed up the dough and stashed about half the dough in the fridge wrapped in cling wrap as I had run out of time. Today’s batch of cookies seem even richer and more flavorful so the time in the chiller didn’t hurt them at all. As I mull it over, I think they were also less spicy; go figure.

This recipe is definitely one for keeping in my book.

Tagged: , ,

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mexican Hot Chocolate Shortbread at Feeling Full.

meta

