A New Season

April 11, 2012 § 2 Comments

I feel like the default start to the first blog post after weeks of no blog posts is always Man, so much has been going on! And, in this instance, it’s been true for me.

The push and pull I’d been feeling to leave behind the world of cupcakes finally solidified in a decision in mid-March and this past Saturday was my last day. My last day of getting up at 4:30 a.m. (hopefully!) when the world is still as dark as when I fell asleep. The last day of whipping cake batters and frostings and making planning lists for the following day of mixing batters and frostings. My last day to walk into a predictably messy kitchen area, having to clean up behind those who “cleaned” the night before. It was also the last day to see some of the coworkers I’ve come to call friends on a daily basis, to interact with the genuinely kind and excited customers just looking for a sugar fix, to sneak dark chocolate chips from the pantry by the handful….oh, and my last day of a earning a steady paycheck.

It was time, and I’m glad I took the plunge. Though not without some nervousness, as I chose to enter again previously charted territory, that of the leaving of one job without another one on the horizon.

Then out of the blue, comes a phone call from one of my friends and former editors looking for project managing help on an extra issue her magazine is producing. And, just like that, I’m back in my old game. As I type this, the table in front of me is strewn with barely legible lists and multiple tabs on Firefox are open. I’m feeling rusty, but up for the challenge. I’ve committed this work to the Lord and have decided I’m going to try not to be a perfectionist just this once. I’ll do the best job I can do and keep the stress at bay as I go. I like to have a project, to feel productive, and about that I’m very excited. The hunt for a rewarding and interesting full-time job does continue and, for today, I have faith that it will happen in its proper time.

§ 2 Responses to A New Season

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading A New Season at Feeling Full.

meta

