Go Go Gadget Flavor!

March 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve been meaning to share this little trinket ever since I got it as a present for Christmas. A little back story first: in October, when my family and I traveled to Townsend, Tennessee, for a quick getaway, we rented a cabin with plans to cook most of our meals, as we usually do. Out-of-the-way scenic spots don’t usually pair well with dining opportunities aplenty.

Upon arrival to said cabin and armed with various foodstuffs, we discovered a dearth, nay, a complete lack of spices save pepper and salt, and maybe a questionably aged jar of oregano. Spices! The hobo dinners we’d planned to make would be lackluster without them, as would any other meat or vegetable we cooked. We were not about to restock this cabin’s spice cabinet ourselves for just a few days, and we didn’t want to purchase extras of what we already had at home. So, we made do.

Enter the grand idea of a travel-friendly collection of spices and herbs. My imagination went to work on this immediately, conjuring up images of the cute little spice tins that many people keep on magnetized boards below their cupboards all corralled in a pouch or case with an aesthetically pleasing design. Upon our return home I began scouring the Interwebs for all the necessary pieces and parts to create such a traveling flavor toolbox, if you will.

Well, what do you know:

 Image

PLANT beat me to it. This slim tier contains just about every spice I would’ve included, as well as some I might not have like Wasabi and Curry, and maybe, Dill, just because I don’t care for it. I plan to still look for my own canisters to get creative with and add to this excellent starter kit.

Of course, we haven’t roughed it lately, but the next time we do, I’ll be traveling prepared.

 


Tagged: ,

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Go Go Gadget Flavor! at Feeling Full.

meta

