Land of Heart’s Desire

March 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

I cannot resist an Ireland post on this day when everyone is thinking about the emerald isle. I wax romantic about Ireland and my two blessed visits to that country in my head almost everyday. Sometimes I subject other people to such ruminations. I fell in love on my first trip, in college, on a literary tour with 9 other students. Galway, Sligo, the Aran Islands, Dublin and parts in between were soaked up at a break-neck pace over just two weeks. A return voyage in 2008 with a friend introduced me to the delights of County Cork and tiny Cobh, the delicious food at Cafe Paradiso, and, not least of all, driving in a foreign country!

The rhythm of the music, the way the weather can change in an instant, the irrepressible greenness, the lovely, lilting, throaty language…it captivated me then and still does. I have not been many places in the world, but Ireland is a place I would return to on a whim, at a moment’s notice, if someone handed me a ticket and said “Go!”

Wild Swans not at Coole (I just can't remember where)

View from Dun Aengus off the coast of the Aran Islands

Newgrange Passage Tomb

The stately Kylemore Abbey (I had a Castles of Europe calendar when I was probably 15 that included this beauty and I finally got to see it up close at age 21. Bliss.)

A pastoral scene near Garryvoe Beach in the south

Gardens of Powerscourt House near Dublin

The panorama from Powerscourt House

Wouldn’t you?

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Land of Heart’s Desire at Feeling Full.

meta

