Celebrate good times, Come on!

January 16, 2012 § Leave a comment

To know me is to know I love my birthday. My mom always made a big deal of holidays when my brother and I were little, so I’m pretty sure that’s where it stems from. I remember waking up to purple and pink streamers covering my doorway one year and a necklace hidden in my napkin at the breakfast table another. My 16th birthday involved a big party to which I invited the entire high school. (In hindsight, might not have done that!)  There might have been flowers delivered to me at school, and later, various offices where I worked. At home, special dinner requests and cake suggestions were all met in delicious fashion. My 21st birthday even took place in Ireland, the home of my heart. And, just a few birthdays ago, my mom and I jetted to New York City for a trip that included viewing an exhibit full of Jane Austen ephemera, which was awe-inspiring to say the least.

Birthdays are special and important. To celebrate someone’s birth, what a privilege and a joy! I try to share my love of birthdays (not just my own, though I am partial) with the people in my life. Though I am getting a year closer to the start of a decade that rhymes with “flirty,” I don’t want to dread it or bemoan it. I want to celebrate it like I’ve celebrated all my birthdays up til now!

This Wednesday is the big day, just in case you were wondering.

 

I turned 21 in Ireland!

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Celebrate good times, Come on! at Feeling Full.

meta

