Fuller

January 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

Since I last shared, I’ve been thrilled to spend time with good friends who I’ve been missing. Two from out of state were met for dinner; another more local friend who I haven’t seen in what feels like ages met me for a 3-hour lunch. And, I just got off a Skype “call” with a dear heart who is literally halfway around the world from me. Sighs of contentment all around.

This weekend, I also got to spend some unfettered time with my friend Alison. A shared love of good food is one of the many reasons we’re close. Saturday night we treated ourselves to “fancy dinner” at a local restaurant. My tab definitely reflected the fanciness aspect and I think I ordered something off every menu they put in front of me, except the wine list. It was a treat to get gussied up and go out for a great meal.

Sunday we cooked the day away together, starting with a chicken butternut squash stew followed closely by Nutella Sea Salt Cookies, all from Cookin’ Canuck. The stew was mighty tasty and my first experience cooking with and consuming quinoa.

Times like these lift me up. The friend valley I’ve been in isn’t seeming as long and deep as it was a few weeks ago. Though not fun, it did give me some time to examine and assess my expectations of my friendships, and even entertain the idea that those may be different than my friends, from their perspectives. Different, I have to remind myself, not worse or less.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fuller at Feeling Full.

meta

