menu poetry: Rojo

December 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

Now, I feel like I’m really in the Christmas Spirit. Not so much because of food, but because of a quick visit to the Alabama Theatre in Birmingham with a friend to see It’s a Wonderful Life. I must admit, in the past I always said I didn’t care for this movie, that it wasn’t my favorite. Gasping usually ensued.

But, now I’ve changed my tune a bit. Maybe I watched it too long ago to remember or maybe I never saw it all the way through, but seeing it last night as part of the Holiday Film Series, I was moved! Almost teared up, even. We would all do to remember this life and this world wouldn’t be the same without us alive in it, and to remind others of the same.

Before the movie, we filled our bellies at Rojo, one of my favorite local restaurants. They have a Latin menu and an American menu, but I’ve never ordered off the latter because the former is too tasty to resist! Simple, flavorful, well-seasoned, and always good.

Last night I had: tacos with grilled chicken, onion, cilantro, spicy tomatillo salsa and rice and beans on corn tortillas.

The dimly lit Rojo wouldn’t have allowed for a good pic, and I was too hungry for all that anyway.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading menu poetry: Rojo at Feeling Full.

meta

