Saturday Soup

December 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s finally chilly and wintry feeling where I live and that can only mean one thing: Soup time! I have so many old favorites to revisit and untold numbers of new ideas to try. Last week, my mom and I made classic potato soup with bacon and scallions and heavenly heavy cream.

Tonight, I wanted to try something different. I had made the rounds earlier this week to procure all my ingredients. Pearled barley, believe it or not, is not found on most grocery store shelves. (I am thankful for health food stores!)

This soup, once I saw it on Orangette’s blog, spoke to me, or, probably more accurately, convicted me in all its vegetable-ladenness of my lack of such in my diet. Plus, it sounded and looked fantastic. And, it’s from a British cookbook. I didn’t need much more convincing. It offered a balanced mix of the challenge and the familiarity that I like in a recipe. I mean, I cooked with leeks and parsnips for the first time!

It was just as satisfying and comforting as it looks. My parents (one carrot hater and one garlic phobe) both slurped it up and kept singing its praises. My only swap was kale for cabbage/Brussels sprouts at the end. Now, I can make kale chips with the rest of the bunch I bought. Or, something entirely new…

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Saturday Soup at Feeling Full.

meta

