Jean Philippe Chocolates

November 8, 2011 § 1 Comment

Back story: Before our trip to the Smokies (which I need to share more pictures from), my brother jetted off to Las Vegas with some friends of his.
My sorta-half-joking request was for him to bring me back some fancy chocolate once I discovered that this place was in the Bellagio where he was staying. Yes, the Bellagio. I just like saying it to hear how it sounds. Plus, I loved the Ocean 11, 12, 13 movies.
So, off he went and, to his credit, tried valiantly to remember my request, but upon picking him up at the airport in Knoxville, Tennessee, so he could join us on our trip to the mountains, he revealed that he had in fact forgotten.
But, I did get a Bellagio pillow chocolate out of him.
Then, I promptly forgot about the whole thing.

Fast forward to last week: a plain cardboard box was perched unassumingly on the porch when I came home from work. This happens from time to time as both my parents are fans of the online shopping. But, it was addressed to me. THIS rarely happens.
Knowing that I had ordered nothing, I stopped to consider the perils of opening nondescript packages. And, then forged ahead.

The tissue paper wrapping gave it away, as it was emblazoned with the JP logo. Then I started rooting around in the foam noodles to find one box of chocolates, a bigger box of chocolates, a tin of chocolate bars, a clear cylinder of chocolate pellets, and a jar of chocolate hazelnut spread.

I had no idea that my brother, my ever-frugal brother would splurge like this! After calling him to thank him profusely and describe the packaging in detail, I started reading the little description booklet to decide which one to try first.

The one with the hazelnut tasted just like smooth creamy Nutella. The mint one surprised me with its actual mint flavor, as in, from the leaves of the plant, not just mint extract. It gave it more depth of flavor instead of an intense up-front bite of menthol.
In the ensuing days, I’ve been whittling down the collection slowly, trying the Earl Grey tea one, the smoky caramel one, and the vanilla rum one, which tasted just like fantastic vanilla ice cream that had flecks of dark chocolate in it.

I’m trying to make them last as long as I can.

§ One Response to Jean Philippe Chocolates

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Jean Philippe Chocolates at Feeling Full.

meta

