menu poetry: Carmelo Cafe

October 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

The town of Tuscaloosa, Alabama, is known outside the South mostly, if not exclusively, for a football team known as the Crimson Tide. There may be people who don’t know of the town or its team, of course, I’m just generalizing.

For me, though, football is not king, but I guess you could say food is.

Having lived in this town as a high schooler, I know it pretty well, but I’m always on the lookout to be surprised or find something new.

My mom and I did just that on Saturday before we attended the annual Kentuck Festival (which was fantastic! I took pictures. I hope they turn out so I can share).Carmelo Cafe is a relatively small place with a daily, blackboard menu. We arrived, we sat, we debated the finer points of the fish tacos versus the pimento cheese burger with bacon or the Roast Beef Po’Boy.

The first thing that caught my eye ended up being what graced my plate and pleased my palate: Walnut-crusted fried chicken with a honey habanero glaze, speckled butter beans, and Gouda grits.

And, so, a surprisingly tasty lunch was had.

 

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading menu poetry: Carmelo Cafe at Feeling Full.

meta

