Break for Breakfast

April 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

Getting up near 4 a.m. most mornings leaves me longing for days when I have time to make breakfast. Breakfast has always been one of my favorite meals of the day. Grabbing an apple/orange/banana and some yogurt/granola/fruit&nut bar on the way out the door doesn’t suffice.

Today I had the day off to actually try a tasty treat inspired by a Real Simple recipe.

One toasted blueberry bagel topped liberally with mascarpone cheese (leftover from making these raspberry gratins that will be made again) then layered with slices of Granny Smith apple and finally drizzled with tupelo honey, my favorite.


I scarfed the first half before I even though to take a picture. It was scrumptious, and it made me feel like I’d actually taken the time to feed myself, rather than fixing the pre-programmed bowl of cereal and milk. Spreading the warm bagel with the soft cheese, cutting the bright green apple into slivers, watching the honey pool and puddle its way through all the layers, and then finally eating the thing (!), I was struck by how important what we eat should be to our overall well-being. It’s a thought I find myself thinking about a lot lately when I’m cooking or when I don’t have time to cook.

I certainly eat mindlessly and quickly all the time, but I’m noticing how much more enjoyable it is to eat something not only good for me, but also interesting to me as well. Thankfully, there’s a new cookbook or food blog or magazine around every corner, so I’m sure I won’t get bored in this pursuit. This breakfast here has endless possibilities in and of itself.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Break for Breakfast at Feeling Full.

meta

