A Fried Chicken Kind of Day

March 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today, my wonderful, luxurious day off during the week, my mom and I went to Maggie’s, an off-the-main-drag, seen-better-days kind of joint that she’s been telling me about for some time. Specifically how amazing their fried chicken is. For weeks I have thought of nothing else (exaggeration alert!) and finally, today, we went.

It was exactly what I expected it to be. Unassuming, cafeteria style dining with Maggie herself behind the counter running the show. With a “whatchew want, honey” we were off to the races. The menu contained all that you want and hope a Southern, soul establishment to/will have. Fried okra, meatloaf, greens, cornbread, peas and beans, yams, mashed potatoes, gravy, fried porkchops and chicken.

Chicken I came for, and chicken, I got. Its crispy skin peeled back to reveal juicy, white meat that barely needed prodding to fall off the bone. Mashed potatoes with gravy and, feeling adventurous, collard greens. A lot of collard greens. For the first time. My grannie would be so proud.

It wouldn’t have been a full meal without sweet tea and a cut-your-own piece of the caramel cake that sat waiting to be sliced over on the dessert table.

Needless to say, this was taken at 12:45 and I haven’t eaten since.

Share your Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Fried Chicken Kind of Day at Feeling Full.

meta

